FAQ: Why are some catalytic converters not legal in california?

Can I install my own catalytic converter in California?

ATTENTION: Under California regulations, it is illegal to install a catalytic converter based solely on physical shape, size, configuration or pipe diameter.

Are aftermarket catalytic converters legal in California?

Aftermarket catalytic converters must be exempted from California’s anti-tampering laws in order to be legally sold and installed in the state. To determine the correct catalytic converter part number for your vehicle, you will need its make, model, model year, engine size and test group/engine family designation.

Why are California catalytic converters different?

Pro: California Catalytic Converters are built with more precious earth metals, so they’re higher quality and will last longer.

Why can’ti buy a catalytic converter in California?

As this equipment is very expensive, it is rarely used, and when it is used, it is most often used improperly. Don’t even think about getting a junk yard converter. Here in California it is illegal to sell a used catalytic converter, so no legitimate yard will even consider consider selling one.

You might be interested:  FAQ: Why wont my picture messages download?

Can you run a car without a catalytic converter?

Typically yes. Your vehicle can operate without a Catalytic Converter. It may throw an engine fault code as it does look for the catalyst to filter before reaching the rear oxygen sensor present in your exhaust system to adjust fuel curves or Air to Fuel ratio.

Can a car pass inspection without a catalytic converter?

This will depend on which vehicle you are referring to. Typically yes. Your vehicle can operate without a Catalytic Converter. It may throw an engine fault code as it does look for the catalyst to filter before reaching the rear oxygen sensor present in your exhaust system to adjust fuel curves or Air to Fuel ratio.

What happens if you get caught without a catalytic converter?

In short: DON’T. If your car came with a catalytic converter youre looking at fines of up to $10,000 for removing it. Removing the catalytic converter is illegal, but getting caught without one isn’t. Most states will simply suspend your smog certification until you get a new one installed.

Is it legal to sell used catalytic converters?

Here in California it is illegal to sell a used catalytic converter, so no legitimate yard will even consider consider selling one. The yards do sell used converters, but only to authorized recyclers who recycle them for their rare earth metals.

Can I use an aftermarket catalytic converter?

Overall, Aftermarket Catalytic Converters Perform the Same Functions as OEM Converters. If you use an aftermarket replacement catalytic converter, your car will set this code just as it will with an OEM part. A quality aftermarket converter should work. Whether it will last as long as an OEM part isn’t guaranteed.

You might be interested:  Readers ask: Why do toenails turn dark?

How much is a catalytic converter worth?

Metal/Material Current Price
Exotic Cat Exotic catalytic converters are from foreign cars. GET QUOTE VIEW METAL DETAILS $500-$801/each
High Grade Domestic Cat Off domestic cars. GET QUOTE VIEW METAL DETAILS $145-$189/each
Pre-Domestic Cat Pre-Domestic Cat. GET QUOTE VIEW METAL DETAILS $27-$59/each

Does a car need a catalytic converter?

The catalytic converter is tougher than most parts found in your car. That’s because it needs that toughness to withstand high operating temperatures. But it can still break down or fail due to rust, impact damage, or engine performance problems. Technically, you can still drive without a catalytic converter.

Can you replace catalytic converter yourself?

It’s only rusted bolts or a welded component that make it harder and increase the catalytic converter replacement time. It’s easily a job that a DIY mechanic can handle. Your car’s catalytic converter is an essential component for reducing the toxic emissions that cause air pollution and climate change.

Can you clean a catalytic converter?

The best method is using water and lacquer thinner. However, there is no proven step or process for cleaning the catalytic converter this way, so you might want to search online for a few additive cleaners, such as Oxicat or Cataclean, that help remove carbon deposits slowly before attempting.

Are high flow cats illegal in California?

To be legal in California, a replacement part such as a new catalytic converter must come with a CARB (Calif. Air Resources Board) “sticker” or must be a direct OEM replacement part. There are no “high flow cats” that have a CARB sticker issued for them.

You might be interested:  Readers ask: Why does it take so long to fall asleep?

How much is a catalytic converter in California?

More Vehicle Specific Estimates & Costs

Type of Catalytic Converter Price as of 05/2017 OEM Numbers
BAP California Legal Direct Fit Catalytic Converter $335.95 840301
Magnaflow 49 State Legal Direct Fit Catalytic Converter $388.54 93200, 18318
BAP 49 State Legal Direct Fit Catalytic Converter $320.95

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *